Home > Uncategorized > Thanks and Onward

Thanks and Onward

July 26, 2012

There’s an old joke about a man who constantly seeks external validation. When his therapist explains this to him, the man asks, “That’s ok, isn’t it?”

To the point of the joke, it’s probably safe to say that people who blog also seek external validation. I know enjoy it when the typical number of readers view one of my posts. The one that I researched most intensely and was the first on my blog has been seen over 250 times. I occasionally prod new readers to take a look back and read it, and occasionally they oblige me.

Sometimes my audience surprises me. To date, the blog has been viewed by readers in 27 countries outside the US. One morning, I looked at my stats, and I had 26 page views – all from Pakistan! I’m going to go ahead and state that I don’t know a lot of people who live abroad – especially in countries that our State Department (as opposed to State Department of Education) keeps under that close of a watch.

The post I made last Friday discussing the deliberate decision by the SDE to withhold money from school districts has been viewed over 2,000 times. It has been shared on Facebook 445 times. The second most viewed post on this blog has been clicked 329 times. So to sum up, what I wrote last Friday has been shared more than any other blog post has been read. I guess I struck a nerve.

And yet I feel like I’m only scratching the surface. I know there are more than 2,000 angry, frustrated people out there who care about public education. I’m trying to reach as broad an audience as possible, hopefully sharing facts that otherwise wouldn’t see the light of day.

I have more I want to write than I have time and energy to write it. I read probably a dozen other education bloggers daily – most notably Diane Ravitch. I follow a number of activists on Twitter – teachers, parents, administrators, politicians, writers, union activists. I try to keep up with education trends, not only in Oklahoma, but across the country.

Ironically, I wrote this morning that the SDE is busy patting itself on the back. I guess that’s what I’m doing right now. I don’t think I’m changing the world; that’s what teachers are for. I do think people are listening, though, and for that, I’m more than grateful.

Thanks for following. If anyone ever has something you want me to look into, let me know in the comments, on Facebook, or in a Tweet.

