Home > Uncategorized > Two Platforms, One Agenda

Two Platforms, One Agenda

October 2, 2012

Do you remember when MTV played music videos? Of course not – nobody does. It’s a lousy example. Forget I said that.

MTV started off doing one thing and did it well for about ten years. Then Real World happened and we quickly forgot that the M stood for Music. I don’t want that to happen to my blog. I write about Oklahoma education issues, while occasionally slipping outside of my comfort zone to discuss other things.

National politics is one of those other things. I’ve never been a single issue voter, but if I were, and that one issue were education, I’d have a hard time picking a presidential candidate. I went to Wordle to analyze the two platforms and came up with this for the Democrats and this for the Republicans. The biggest word for Democrats is students. The biggest word for Republicans is education. Maybe the biggest difference is that the word teachers isn’t very big in the Republican word cloud.


If you care about education above all other issues, and you plan to watch tomorrow night’s debate between President Obama and Governor Romney, do yourself a favor – read what the Republican Platform says about education and read what the Democratic Platform says about education. Unfortunately, I see more similarities than differences. A lot of nebulous reform language and support for the concept of charter schools.

Keep in mind that presidential candidates have a long history of drifting away from the party platform after a convention.

  1. October 2, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    I remember the M. … I remember when a Democratic President created a federal system of school accountability based on tests and a Republican President took it just a few steps further with “No Vendor Left Behind.” I remember when a Republican Oklahoma governor raised taxes and when a Democratic Oklahoma governor became king of the tax cut. But, I’m old and I know that few choices are easy to make.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
