Home > Uncategorized > Less Than Zero

Less Than Zero

May 3, 2013

This will be a very short post today, mainly because I don’t have a lot of time. I made the case in the fall that the A-F Report Cards were fairly meaningless. One of the biggest reasons that I – and many others – felt this way was that the tests were only a snapshot in time of academic achievement.

This year, they aren’t even that.

We have sacrificed the essence of education to focus narrowly on a small number of learning objectives. Why? So our students can graduate? So our teachers and schools can look good?

We have paid Pearson millions of dollars for the privilege of extracting the meaning from public education. They failed, and now we are paying CTB for the same ineptitude.

In return, we get nothing. Or less, if possible.

  1. Danny
    May 3, 2013 at 7:37 am

    Thought you were going to talk about the additional school funding. Great News. I am sure it is not enough for you.

    Like

    • May 3, 2013 at 7:38 am

      I haven’t had time to look over the details. I plan to do that this weekend.

      Like

  1. May 5, 2013 at 2:03 pm
Comments are closed.
