Home > Uncategorized > Okeducationtruths Turns Two!

Okeducationtruths Turns Two!

April 25, 2014

On April 25, 2012, when I made my first post on this blog, I had no idea that I’d find this to be such an effective form of catharsis. I had no idea I’d get to be a part of so many compelling conversations about public education. Here are a few numbers that blow my mind:

  • This is my 413th post.
  • 2,029 people follow the blog’s Twitter account.
  • 1,920 people follow the blog’s Facebook page.
  • 294 people receive each new post in their email.
  • 44 WordPress followers receive each new post in their WP Reader.
  • 55 posts have more than 1,000 page views on the WordPress site.
  • One of the most important posts, Education Blogs I Follow, has more than 1,500 page views.
  • Since day one, the blog has received more than 286,000 total page views.
  • Zero personal gain for me.

When I made the first post, I had no plan for the second. The first time I had something get 50 page views, I thought this blog was big time. Now, I have a different idea of what constitutes success. As with measuring student achievement, it’s more than numbers.

Many of the other bloggers who write about education in Oklahoma have told me they do what they do because of me. That’s probably what makes me proudest as a blogger. I certainly am a product of my influences, and if this little adventure helps others find their voice, I’m more than happy for them – and for all of us. Collectively, we’ve raised awareness to educators, parents, and community members about the policy disasters that plague us. Just last night, we (at least temporarily) stopped the expansion of charter schools to the entire state.

The one little thing that still causes some readers to take this blog with a grain of salt is my anonymity. In fact, back in February when I wrote to all the members of the House and Senate education committees in my blogger persona, I had a total of four responses. One of them was quite pointed:

I appreciate the reply. However, you’re anonymity causes me grave concern… …I have read many of your posts and found some of them to be very a chat [sic] and some to be remarkably in error.

I’m not sure which posts he thought were in error. Maybe this legislator meant that I don’t hold to his opinions and allegiances. And he’s not my only detractor. I typically let the comments people make to the blog stand on their own, even when they’re critical of me. I have deleted a few really inflammatory ones, and I’ll continue to do that. My blog, my rules. And yes, I still plan to write anonymously. I enjoy the separation of my professional self and my activist voice. There may be a time when that changes, but it’s not coming soon.

To this point, I’ve been learning to crawl, walk, and talk. I’m sure it’s been adorable to watch. Now that I’m entering my terrible twos – and since it’s an election year – don’t expect me to behave any better. As hard as we’ve fought, the legislature is still intent of cutting taxes and teeters weekly with outsourcing control of our schools to privateers. The governor has shown no interest in funding education adequately. Barresi still holds office. We have much left to work for.

As always, I appreciate you coming by and checking this site out. I hope you’ll be back soon. And if you haven’t yet, tell your friends to check out this and other great blogs in this state. Too many people care about public education and the schools in their communities, and we need all hands on deck.

  1. Kevin
    April 25, 2014 at 8:14 am

    you’re anonymity while causing some great concern is appreciated by most in #oklaed. We appreciate the fact you give us a sounding board.

    Like

  2. April 25, 2014 at 8:41 am

    Congratulations. Keep up the good work. We in the hinderland need your expertise.

    Like

  3. Anonymous Reader
    April 25, 2014 at 11:29 am

    One of the most influential national education blogs, back in the day, was Eduwonkette — also grounded in research, also able to Do The Math, and also anonymous. Keep at it!

    Like

  4. Teacher's Husband
    April 25, 2014 at 11:42 am

    I don’t have a problem with his anonymity as we are not aware of the consequences if the identity was positively known. What is written makes clear that he knows that of which he writes.

    If my identity was known, my wife would be out of a job so fast it would make your head swim because of the local “politics.” Especially true of the Daily Oklahoman discussions back when they allowed discus (I am on no social media now required). So I understand discussion and contributing to the same while maintaining a level of anonymity.

    Like

  5. Kirby Lehman
    April 25, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    And look out for Barresi “coming out of the chute” with a bang in the near future, utilizing some of her million$ in developing a media blitz that will make her look like the Second Coming. She will be made to look very, very good to the “unwashed and uneducated” in Oklahoma. Let’s just hope those folks are in a distinct minority.

    Thanks for your massive communication effort, and Happy Birth(blog)day.

    Like

  6. Ann Caine, EdD
    April 25, 2014 at 2:22 pm

    As a superintendent, I appreciate your honesty and your ability to weed through the “stuff” and explain what is going on without using political jargon. Of course people want to know who the writer is, but that’s just human nature. Please keep on doing what you’re doing. Sometimes, at the end of the day, you’re the best thing we’ve read all day! And, seriously, I appreciate the thoroughness you give to reporting the facts. Thanks so much-keep on doing what you’re doing!

    Like

  7. Rob miller
    April 27, 2014 at 4:42 pm

    You continue to educate, inform and inspire others to find their voice. I would likely not have started my own blog without your model. You have clearly paved the way for many others. Congrats on the milestone! Keep on blogging!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
