Home > Uncategorized > Blogger Challenge: The Things We Pretend

Blogger Challenge: The Things We Pretend

April 15, 2015

The Education Land of Make Believe

We are deep inside another blogging challenge. And I have one from last week to make up. In fact, I’m way behind on my blogging. I’ll try to do some catching up the next few days. For now, Blue Cereal Education’s 1200 word challenge will have to wait. In the meantime, if you’ve ever thought of starting a blog, I suggest jumping in on one of these challenges. This is a great way to crowdsource our ideas – and we need more of them.

This time, the prompt comes from Iowa’s Scott McLeod. Somehow, I’ve never read his blog, Dangerously ! Irrelevant. That stops now. Sign me up.

Seriously, I wish I could go back three years and come up with a catchier blog title. Okeducationtruths? What was I thinking?

Here’s my short list:

We must stop pretending…

  1. …that homework tells us what students know and what they’ve learned. In reality, it tells us how compliant they are, and sure, there’s value in that. We don’t know how much help they had or if it turned into a group project. Likewise, an assignment that is not turned in tells us even less. I could cheat and say this exact same thing about grades.
  2. …that seat time equals learning. I saw a headline yesterday about parents of a straight A student being pulled into truancy court. What does it say if a student has 20 absences and still has an A in every class? School isn’t a must be present to win scenario, is it? Sure, I think that attendance increases the likelihood that learning will occur. And yes, the students who have a lot of absences and high grades are the exception. Then why punish the exception?
  3. …that we can buy curriculum better than we can make it. Find out how much your school district spends on textbooks. Then ask teachers if they could browse the Internet for free content and collaborate on lessons, units, and assessments that would be cheaper and better than what the publishers are selling us. Think about shifting that funding to the pockets of our teachers. Think about the professional growth that would come from such collaboration. Think of the technology that we could put directly into students’ hands. And by the way, I feel the same way about all the computer programs we buy for reading and math interventions. Sure, some are good, but they’re pricy as heck. Teachers are always a better bargain.
  4. …that poverty has a binary impact on student learning. Some students are poor and have tremendous home support for education. Some students are wealthy and don’t. Also, there’s a difference between poor and destitute. Some situations are harder to address at school than others. As researchers, defenders of public education, and even reformers, we all fall into the trap of talking about poverty as a singular problem. While schools serving populations with a high concentration of deep, generational poverty are harder places to teach, there are some that have been successful.
  5. …that we should create public policy based on the outliers. Some schools defy trends when it comes to poverty and student achievement. A lot of what the teachers do there is replicable in other situations. Some isn’t. We can learn lessons from these schools about hard work and seizing on opportunities – such as smart use of grant money when it becomes available.

It took restraint to stop at five. Here are some other entries from Oklahoma bloggers:

Moving at the Speed of Creativity

Teaching from Here

Mrs. Waters English

Educating Me

And here’s a video from the Pretenders:

Just because.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. April 15, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    All five could have been their own blog posts.
    Don’t even get me stared about seat time and creating curriculum!!! I just turned in a fantasy tech implementation plan for a grad class I am taking. I told them that in my world we could pay for all the tech due to the fact we were not purchasing a core curriculum. I went full fantasy version on them.
    And our school is not a seat time based school. It has it’s pros and cons. I would love to talk about it with you sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. April 15, 2015 at 9:32 pm

    I’m so glad you wrote this post. It has been AGES since I have posted and I have wondered what would be interesting to blog about. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. April 16, 2015 at 6:40 am

    Reblogged this on gottadobetterthanthis and commented:

    Yes, we pretend our schools work. Mostly teachers are pretty good, and children learn most of the time regardless.

    Like

  4. April 16, 2015 at 7:19 am

    WOW. This is a really strong list, Rick. Plus the Pretenders video to boot! (wish I’d thought of that!)

    Thanks for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
