Home > Uncategorized > 2015 Edu-blogger awards

2015 Edu-blogger awards

December 8, 2015

This is trite, but let me say it’s an honor to be nominated – in two categories. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, the finalists for the 2015 Edublogger awards have been named. And yes, this is a real thing.

Overall, Oklahoma blogs have been named as finalists in several categories. In addition to my nominations, here are some others for whom you could vote:

I made several nominations myself, and I see that some of the blogs (or posts) I submitted didn’t make it through to the finals. What’s even cooler is that there are blogs on here I have never read before. You know what that means….

New words!

One thing I have loved about blogging since I started in 2012 is that I find myself getting connected with other writers from within Oklahoma and from around the country.

For example, in the category of “Most Influential Blog Post,” I nominated an Oklahoma friend (#totalhomer), who wasn’t named a finalist. However, my current favorite national writer (Peter Greene, author of Curmudgication) was named a finalist for his post, Stop Defending Music. I use this post in my graduate Curriculum and Instruction class each semester.

One thing to remember as you look at the Oklahoma entrants (and maybe peruse a few other blogs to expand your knowledge base) is that every blog began somewhere. Even Diane Ravitch was a new blogger once. In 2012 (the same year I started), she came in fifth in the category of new blogs, garnering a whopping 111 votes.Ravitch in Fifth

Currently, her blog has over 24,000,000 page views. For comparison’s sake, I’m approaching 600,000 all-time views.

My point in writing about this is not to encourage you to go vote for me. It’s actually to encourage you to begin writing. Start your own blog. Whether you want to advocate for the profession, showcase your classroom, or discuss innovation, just get started. You don’t have to post every day. You don’t have to keep a consistent schedule even.

This is the Internet. We’ll be here, whenever you decide to return. And so will your words.

Go Vote!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
