Home > Uncategorized > The School I Choose

The School I Choose

January 29, 2013

The mantra this week is that parents should get to choose the schools their children attend; that their zip code shouldn’t choose it for them. It’s quite the idyllic belief – that out there, somewhere is the perfect school.

As a parent, I’m still looking. Here’s what I hope to find.

  • I choose a school that values children for the unique individuals they are.
  • I choose a school with a strong, active PTA.
  • I choose a school where the parents of the other children value education as much as I do.
  • I choose a school that has well-paid faculty who are happy to come to work.
  • I choose a school where the teachers receive meaningful professional development and are treated as professionals.
  • I choose a school that teaches all students, regardless of background or ability.
  • I choose a school that has enough technology to prepare my child for the world after school.
  • I choose an elementary school with a safe and exciting playground.
  • I choose a school that can afford a resource officer, even though I live in a community that looks like it would never need one.
  • I choose a school with enough counselors to tend to every child’s social and psychological needs.
  • I choose a school not driven mad by testing.
  • I choose a middle school with teachers who work in teams to help children transition into adolescent learners.
  • I choose a school that offers art, music, PE, and computer instruction at all levels.
  • I choose a school that has a strong collaborative relationship with a Career Tech center.
  • I choose a school that fosters reading for reading’s sake and writing for writing’s sake.
  • I choose a school with every student receiving support to be on grade level in reading and math.
  • I choose a school that doesn’t arbitrarily mandate retention based on flawed tests.
  • I choose a high school that offers a variety of courses that allow students to explore their career possibilities.
  • I choose a school that encourages the study of Current Events.
  • I choose a school that teaches people not to be defined by their mistakes.
  • I choose a school where the parents support their children in sports while also respecting the boundaries between the field and the stands.
  • I choose a school with good breakfasts and lunches.
  • I choose a school that can raise money for band trips and cheerleader uniforms but doesn’t have to for teacher supplies.
  • I choose a school that operates under mandates fully funded by the state.
  • I choose a school focused on children rather than A-F Report Cards.
  • I choose a school with no bullying.
  • I choose a school with board members who listen to the professionals in their district.
  • I choose a school that is a partner with its community.
  • I choose a school where the teachers have manageable class sizes.
  • I choose a school with teachers who will laugh when students properly pull off a flash mob.
  • I choose a school with at least one nurse.
  • I choose a school with at least one librarian.
  • I choose a school with spirit.
  • I choose a school that takes field trips and has class parties.
  • I choose a school with fully-equipped science labs.
  • I choose a school that teaches social studies and civic engagement to all students.
  • I choose a school that values service-learning.
  • I choose a school that has well-maintained buses with comfortable seats.
  • I choose a school with a safe room, a roof that doesn’t leak, and functioning heat and air.
  • I choose a school that encourages participation in Math Counts, Geography Bee, Science Fair, Competitive Speech and Debate, and Robotics.

Maybe I haven’t found the perfect school yet. I haven’t even created the perfect list, I’m sure. I came up with these 40 things in about 15 minutes. Nonetheless, I’m still grateful for the schools my children attend(ed). I know most feel the same way.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Janet
    January 29, 2013 at 8:24 am

    Thanks for taking the time to write each day. I enjoy reading your blogs. I thought of a couple of items I would add to your list.

    I choose a school that offers classes to parents on discipline, helping with homework, basic computer skills, or even English language.

    I choose a school that creates opportunities for parent and community to volunteer in the school.

    I choose a school that has a full calendar of activities, with only two days allocated for spring achievement testing.

    I choose a school that is the social hub for the families in the community.

    Like

    • January 29, 2013 at 11:27 am

      Thanks for the kind words, and I agree with your list too!

      Like

  1. February 20, 2014 at 7:01 am
Comments are closed.